What's the definition of percentage in a zone, and what is it used for?

Post your questions and comments here.
anibal

What's the definition of percentage in a zone, and what is it used for?

Post by anibal »

Hi all,

I'm new to EWC Controls, and just setup a system based on two UT3000, using 6 Honeywell VisionPro8000 thermostats all controlled via a RedLink Internet Gateway (actually 2 of them - since they have a limit of 4 items per gateway - go figure).

My contractor, who sold me the system and is setting it up, it's not giving me a straight answer with respect to percentages. There's a configuration in the UT3000 where you can configure the % for each zone. What is this percentage meaning and what does it control?

I'd love to hear the actual definition and also real-world examples of different settings and why they were chosen like that. Posting a picture here of my setup for fun.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Tony

Re: What's the definition of percentage in a zone, and what is it used for?

Post by Tony »

Dear Anibal,
that is a great question. When we talk about % of each zone we mean , the board assigned each zone a weight, the sum of all these weights together = 100%, total system. we use this when thermostats call, and apply a formula.
Zone weight x thermostat demand / 100 = initial system demand.

Zone 1 = 70% assigned weight .70 x thermostat demand of .30 = a 21% system demand. that thermostat wants 21% of what that compressor can do.

Hopefully that helps you understand the process.
If you still have an application specific question, give us a call, and we will gladly explain what the board is doing for you..
x490
Thank You,
anibal

Post by anibal »

Hi Tony,

Thanks for the prompt response!

What do you mean by the "thermostat demand"? What would a thermostat demand of .30 mean?

Thanks,

-Anibal
anibal

Post by anibal »

Follow-up question/scenario.