EWC-ST-3E to NCM-300

Post your questions and comments here.
deejaybos

EWC-ST-3E to NCM-300

Post by deejaybos »

Recently moved into a new home with a 3 zoned central air system. As a new/young homeowner, I would like to be able to future-proof our home and get some of the latest money-saving tech installed. I've read plenty of posts that our old multi-zone board will not allow for today's standard thermostats (ie. Nest, Ecobee, latest wifi Honeywell, etc.) As an amateur, I will be able to follow the wiring diagram to swap out the two panels, everything seems very black and white. Where my confusion sets in is the thermostat wiring itself.

Based on the picture of the panel, it looks like zone 1 is a "master" zone with all the wiring required, where as zone 2/3 are slaves. Looking at the pictures of the thermostats, you can see that whoever hooked them up used all wires, for all 'zones'. I'm not sure how to identify the master zone, even though I assume it's the main floor. I can't attach the 3rd zone thermostat that's in the basement, but it also includes all the wire hook-ups, but according to the panel, 2/3 should only have W/Y/R wired to the thermostat. Once the panels are swapped, I assume it will be W/Y/R/C. If I hook up 3 nests, will I still be in a master/slave setup or will the 3 thermostats be able to function independently (ex. zone 1 is heating and zone 2 is cooling.)

I'm definitely not HVAC trained, but I can follow instructions, I just don't want to pay $100s to have someone follow a wiring diagram for me and hook up a few thermostats for me.